celebrex lawyer

Archive for News

2018 chapter election results

President: Jack Kempter

Vice President: Phil Braeger

Jr. Vice: Darrell Berning

Chaplain: Don Zafft

Treasurer: Don Reconnu

Secretaries: Sherry Janssen & Assistant: Rich Felberg

New Board members: Earl Cass, Jim Strom, Bob Syring

Regional Veterans Cemetery Info

A recent city cemetery meeting uncovered the following concerns:

1. The only “veteran” council member (a non-activated guard), said he had only heard negative comments about our cemetery. The mayor and council NEVER met with us beforehand! Please contact the mayor and  ALL council members below (ESPECIALLY the one representing your ward) and let’s flood them with our approval of the cemetery! A map link is included below to find your ward.

2. The council thinks our name “Veterans Cemetery of South Dakota” is illegal and can’t be used.  This is FALSE.

3. They think our cemetery has to be state (or federally) “sanctioned.” That is also FALSE. It was always started as a regional cemetery following all the state (& national)  rules – in hopes of possibily, someday becoming a state cemetery (which is absolutely NOT necessary!)

4.  They think they are giving us land but question the maintenance of it.  This too is FALSE!  We will be using their land but developing and maintaining it ourselves with our own funds.  There is absolutley NO COSTS to the city!!

Here is the contact info for the city council:

MAYOR Sara Caron  605-882-6200 ext.3574 scaron@watertownsd.us
WARD A (NE Wtn)
Mike Danforth   605-882-4896 mdanforth@watertownsd.us
Don Roby         605-753-5679 droby@watertownsd.us
WARD B (N Central Wtn)
Adam Lalim       605-868-3487 alalim@watertownsd.us
Jon Solum         605-520-2803 jsolum@watertownsd.us
WARD C (Central & SW Wtn)
Brad Thorson  605-881-7500 bthorson@watertownsd.us
Beth Mantey    605-868-1114 bmantey@watertownsd.us
WARD D (SE Wtn)
Josh Weyh        605-868-1220 jweyh@watertownsd.us
City Council President:
Bruce Buhler    605-886-6743 bbuhler@watertownsd.us
WARD E (Lake & W Wtn)
Glen Vilhauer    605-886-9320 gvilhauer@watertownsd.us
Dan Albertsen.   605-886-9265 dalbertsen@watertownsd.us

And here is a link to a map of the wards:

https://www.watertownsd.us/DocumentCenter/View/221

Veterans Cemetery City Meeting

Gerry Likness (Regional Ambassador for Make A Wish) received $500 from Vietnam Veterans of America Chapter 1054 President Jack Kempter. After a hat was passed during the VVA meeting Gerry had a total of $1,457.

Watertown Public Opinion Editorial 2/10/2018

Veteran gene-mapping project (MVP)

Dec, 1-15 Food Drive Contest

Our 6 service organizations (VVA, VFW, Am. Leg., etc.) are having a contest for the most food contributed to the Salvation Army by December 15.  Label your organization on your non-perishable good(s) contribution and deliver it to our Codington County VSO (at our court house basement)

Free pheasant hunt! Free education!

At the September meeting, 2 great opportunities were mentioned:

1. Warriors Never Give Up will host a free pheasant hunt on November 11, 2017.
To attend, contact Gary Wurgler @ 905/368-2144 or garynw@hotmail.com

2. Larry Zimmerman announced that veterans can now get higher degree education beyond the old 15-year limit.  So go out and get the bucket list degree!  See your VSO.

Returning Vietnam Vet book

Contact Phil Braeger (881-6782) if you want a new $60 book titled “Still Coming Home” about returning Vietnam Vet stories in their own words. Or see order form on page 3 of the May-June newsletter.

April 2017 Chapter 1054 Election Results

President: Jack Kempter
Vice President: Phil Braeger
Jr Vice President: Floyd Hermans
Treasurer: Don Reconnu
Secretary: Rich Felberg
Chaplain: Don Zafft
New Board Members: Jerry Denman, Randy Holiday, Bob Frink